top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTori Powell

Goose Island - Anticipation (Fresh Hop IPA) - Review



When I was approached about sampling the new Fresh Hop IPA from Goose Island UK, I very quickly said yes as I find fresh hop beers to be interesting, diverse, and delicious. To address the elephant (or goose) in the room, I know Goose Island is macro and not something I typically tend to review on here, but I've never personally had issue with them or their beers (Goose Island would be one of my go-to's in a non-craft bar when offered). I'm sure it goes without saying that this was gifted to me by them but I will also state that nobody has actually asked me to post a review in exchange - I've done so because I've overall enjoyed the beer. I really adored the wicker basket it was delivered in as well (I've always wanted one) and have "anticipated" finding out what Goose Island could do with a fresh hop beer .



Anticipation poured heavily hazed and with a lovely shade sitting somewhere between deep gold and pale amber. Its white head admittedly wasn't particularly noteworthy in size nor length of stay, but I think the aroma made up for it with a heavy presence of tropical fruits - papaya in particular - and felt the freshness translated in the smell. Unsure if there was any influence by me still getting over a bad cold at the time of drinking, but I also got some subtle dankness from it as well. It's also worth noting that the beer is "only" 6.5% ABV, but I also felt the aroma had a booziness to it.

When it came to the taste, however, it was very easy drinking and would argue tasted lower than 6.5%. It took me a few sips to start processing my thoughts as I found it interesting yet hard to explain initially. The aroma had hit me a bit more full-on than the flavour but also conjured up thoughts of freshly pressed juice you'd pick up at a farm. It wasn't initially noticeably bitter but was quite well balanced, smooth, and fresh tasting.


The bitterness did start to turn up little by little as I continued to drink, though I felt the tropical fruit flavours held that balance and kept it in check. Though the aroma was more papaya-defined, the taste brought out more of the citrus side on the forefront.

Again - full disclosure - I am getting over being ill with a bad cold, so perhaps there is an impact in how I'm tasting things. Despite the description, I didn't personally feel that the flavours landed particularly bold or punchy, but I also don't consider that a bad thing because it is so easy drinking and enjoyable. I feel this would make it easy to pair with all kinds of different foods as there is nothing distinctly prominent sticking out that could clash with what you're snacking on. It felt like it would pair particularly well with a rustic chacuterie board in a historic barn, which is exactly what I then attempted to do (except it was Spanish cured meats bought at Costco that I enjoyed at my home office IKEA desk).

This beer feels very well rounded for autumn as a whole - in everything from the colour and aroma to the tasting notes and food pairing.

---

TL;DR - No, I'm not an "influencer" (at least not in my own eyes). Yes this pair of cans was gifted to me. I very much enjoyed it in all it's fresh and autumnal glory.



For anybody interested, you can try for yourself and pick some up via this link to the Goose Island website : https://www.gooseislandshop.com/products/anticipation-ipa-1-x-440ml

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page