top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTori Powell

Azvex Brewing Company - Jelly Jar (Blackberry & Redcurrant Sour Ale) - Review



For Sour Sunday yesterday, I cracked open one of the three cans kindly gifted to me by Azvex Brewing - a new brewery based in Liverpool. It felt only right. Hitting an ABV of 7%, Jelly Jar is a blackberry & blackcurrant sour ale and was lively from the second I cracked open the can. On the pour, it was just as lively visually. Twinning nearly perfectly in colour with its appealing label, its deep, dark purple liquid with a vibrant fuchsia head was immediately inviting. The head also held much longer than many sours of my past. I love seeing foam in shades outside the standard spectrum of various whites and browns. I don't typically tend to consider sound in my tasting, but it was hard to avoid on this occasion as it was fervorously fizzing away like you'd hear after pouring a seltzer. From the smell, there is no questioning it was a sour nor would you argue it was loaded with summer fruits . This seemed a perfect display for what the beer name suggested.

Going in for the sip, the taste was like straight up Ribena . Levels for both acidity and tartness were well balanced and would lend itself both to people that enjoy sours already as well as to those who are looking to expand their horizons and introduce their taste buds to something new. The mouthfeel is thinner but feels about the right consistency overall (and certainly isn't so thin that it's watery).There was that slight sweetness to it which unfortunately did make me conscious of the effect it would have on my teeth (but thankfully no teeth were stained or harmed in the drinking of this ale ). From the perspective of the sour level itself, it's not sharp enough to causes involuntary puckering, but certainly contains a noticeable tart level which helps in serving as a good intro to the style and what to expect at a base level yet not being off-putting with too much complexity. While I would describe it as straightforward & delivering exactly as it says on the tin, I consider this to be a positive story of "simple yet effective". Though I enjoy varied layers in my beer , I also don't think a beer has to be complex to be tasty and enjoyable. In saying that, however, I did start to get more of a vinous like quality - similar to what you'd get from tannins in red wine – as I neared the end of the glass.

Jelly Jar is incredibly easy drinking - almost too easy - as liquid levels were dropping at alarming rates. It certainly did not taste as you'd expect from a 7% beer. In a blind tasting, I would be likely to guess around the 4-5% mark. It has made me really excited to see Azvex 's continued growth and to watch for any sours they turn out in future. As these were sent to me to try, I just want to make it clear that there was no expectation set of what I should post. They have been very clear and upfront that 100% honest feedback is important to them first and foremost - which I very much respect. TL;DR: Full flavour. Jammy and just the right level of sharp where it's certainly sour but also not a challenge to drink. I definitely would drink it again and recommend it to others - especially if you're partial to a Ribena juice box like the mature adults we all are.

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page